1	Counseling Regulations	
2 3		
4	PART I.	
5 6	GENERAL PROVISIONS	
7		
8	18 VAC 115-20-20. Fees required by the board	
9		
10	A. The board has established the following fees applicable to licensure as a professional	
11	counselor:	
12		
13	Active aAnnual license renewal	\$105
14	Inactive annual license renewal	\$55
15	Initial licensure by examination	\$65
16	Initial licensure by endorsement	\$65
17	Duplicate license	\$5
18	Verification of license to another jurisdiction	\$25
19	Late renewal	\$35
20	Reinstatement of a lapsed license	\$165
21	Replacement of or additional wall certificate	\$15
22	Returned check	\$25
23	Reinstatement following revocation or suspension	\$500
24		
25	B. Fees shall be paid directly to the board or its contractor or both in appropriate amounts as	
26	specified in the application instructions. All fees are nonrefundable.	
27		
28	C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board.	
29		
30		
31	PART IV.	
32	LICENSURE RENEWAL; REINSTATEMENT.	
33		

1	18 VAC 115-20-100. Annual renewal of licensure.
2	
3	A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year.
4	
5	B. Beginning with the 2005 renewal, eEvery license holder who intends to continue an
6	<u>active</u> $\frac{1}{100}$ practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year:
7	
8	1. A completed application for renewal of the license on which the licensee attests to
9	compliance with the continuing competency requirements prescribed in this chapter;
10	and
11	2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-20-20.
12	
13	C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon payment
14	of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-20-20. No person shall practice
15	counseling in Virginia unless he holds a current active license. A licensee who has placed
16	himself in inactive status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set
17	forth in 18 VAC 115-20-110.C.
18	
19	\underline{CD} . Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days. Failure to
20	receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal
21	requirement.
22	
23	18 VAC 115-20-105. Continued competency requirements for renewal of a license.
24	
25	A. After July 1, 2004, licensed professional counselors shall be required to have
26	completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure
27	renewal. A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics,
28	standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia.
29	
30	B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion
31	of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to

1	the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing
2	competency requirement.
3	
4	C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency
5	requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary
6	disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters.
7	
8	D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain
9	continuing competency for each license. Dually licensed individuals will only be
10	required to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this section or subsection A of 18
11	VAC 115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family
12	Therapy, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the
13	Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Providers.
14	
15	18 VAC 115-20-106. Continuing competency activity criteria.
16	
17	A. Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one
18	or more of the areas listed below.
19	
20	1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science
21	professions
22	2. Counseling theory
23	3. Human growth and development
24	4. Social and cultural foundations
25	5. The helping relationship
26	6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling
27	7. Lifestyle and career development
28	8. Appraisal of individuals
29	9. Research and evaluation
30	10. Professional orientation
31	11. Clinical supervision

2 13. Addictions 3 B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following 5 types: 6 - 7 I. Formally organized learning activities or home study. (Activities may be counted 8 at their full hour value.) Hours shall be obtained from one or a combination of the 9 following board-approved mental health related activities: 10 a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a 12 behavioral health discipline. 13 - 14 b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 15 - 16 c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field 17 offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 18 - 19 d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field 20 offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by 21 one of the following: 22 (i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 23 state affiliates.	1	12. Marriage and family therapy
4 B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following 5 types: 6	2	13. Addictions
5 types: 6 1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. (Activities may be counted at their full hour value.) Hours shall be obtained from one or a combination of the following board-approved mental health related activities: 10 a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a behavioral health discipline. 11 a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a behavioral health discipline. 13 b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 16 c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 18 19 19 d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by one of the following: 22 () 23 () 24 state affiliates. 25 .	3	
6	4	B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following
71. Formally organized learning activities or home study. (Activities may be counted at their full hour value.) Hours shall be obtained from one or a combination of the following board-approved mental health related activities:10a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a behavioral health discipline.11a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a behavioral health discipline.13b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges.15c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals.18d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by one of the following:23(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its state affiliates.24state affiliates.	5	types:
8 at their full hour value.) Hours shall be obtained from one or a combination of the following board-approved mental health related activities: 10 a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a behavioral health discipline. 11 a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a behavioral health discipline. 13 b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 15 c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 18 . 19 d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by one of the following: 22 . 23 (i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its state affiliates. 24 state affiliates. 25 .	6	
9 following board-approved mental health related activities: 10 a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a 11 a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a 12 behavioral health discipline. 13 . 14 b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 15 . 16 c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 18 . 19 d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by one of the following: 22 . 23 (i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its state affiliates. 24 state affiliates. 25 .	7	1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. (Activities may be counted
10 a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a 11 a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a 12 behavioral health discipline. 13 b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 15 c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field 16 c. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field 17 offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 18 19 19 d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field 20 offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by 21 one of the following: 22 (i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 23 state affiliates. 25	8	at their full hour value.) Hours shall be obtained from one or a combination of the
11a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a behavioral health discipline.13behavioral health discipline.14b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges.15.16c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals.18.19d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by one of the following:23(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its state affiliates.24state affiliates.25.	9	following board-approved mental health related activities:
12 behavioral health discipline. 13 14 14 b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 15 . 16 c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field 17 offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 18 . 19 d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field 20 offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by 21 one of the following: 22 . 23 (i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 24 state affiliates. 25 .	10	
13 14 b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges. 15 16 c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field 17 offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 18 . 19 d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field 20 offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by 21 one of the following: 22 (i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 24 state affiliates. 25 .	11	a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a
14b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges.15	12	behavioral health discipline.
15 16 c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field 17 offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. 18	13	
16c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field17offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals.18	14	b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges.
17offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals.18	15	
18 19 d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field 20 offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by 21 one of the following: 22 (i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 24 state affiliates. 25 (i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its	16	c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field
19d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field20offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by21one of the following:22(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its24state affiliates.25(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its	17	offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals.
20offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by21one of the following:22	18	
21 one of the following: 22	19	d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field
 22 23 (<i>i</i>) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 24 state affiliates. 25 	20	offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by
 23 (<i>i</i>) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its 24 state affiliates. 25 	21	one of the following:
24 <u>state affiliates.</u> 25	22	
25	23	(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its
	24	state affiliates.
	25	
26 (<i>ii</i>) The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its	26	(ii) The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its
27 <u>state affiliates.</u>	27	state affiliates.
28	28	
29 (<i>iii</i>) The American Association of State Counseling Boards.	29	(iii) The American Association of State Counseling Boards.
30	30	
31 (<i>iv</i>) The American Counseling Association and its state and local	31	(iv) The American Counseling Association and its state and local

1	affiliates.
2	
3	(v) The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates.
4	
5	(vi) Commission on Rehabilitation Education.
6	
7	(vii) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state
8	and local affiliates.
9	
10	(viii) National Association of Social Workers.
11	
12	(ix) National Board for Certified Counselors.
13	
14	(x) A national behavioral health organization or certification body.
15	
16	(xi) Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing
17	competency sponsors by the American Association of State Counseling
18	Boards or a counseling board in another state.
19	
20	2. Individual professional activities.
21	
22	a. Publication/presentation/new program development
23	
24	(i) Publication of articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight
25	hours.)
26	
27	Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a
28	chapter in an edited book.
29	
30	(<i>ii</i>) Publication of books. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18
31	hours.)

1	
2	(<i>iii</i>) Presentations. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
3	
4	The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period. Only
5	actual presentation time may be counted.
6	
7	(<i>iv</i>) New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of
8	eight hours.)
9	
10	New program development includes a new course, seminar, or workshop.
11	New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or university
12	courses.
13	
14	b. Dissertation. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.)
15	
16	Dissertation credit may only be counted once.
17	
18	c. Clinical supervision/consultation. (Activity will count for a maximum of ten
19	hours.)
20	
21	Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical
22	supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.
23	Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you
24	provide to others.
25	
26	d. Leadership. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
27	
28	The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing
29	competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization;
30	editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of
31	state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national

1	counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary
2	review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling
3	committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major
4	counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with
5	justifiable professional learning experiences. The leadership positions
6	must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure.
7	
8	e. Practice related programs. (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight
9	hours.)
10	
11	The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency
12	as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written
13	justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his
14	clients. Examples include: language courses, software training, medical
15	topics, etc.
16	
17	18 VAC 115-20-107. Documenting compliance with continuing competency
18	requirements.
19	
20	A. All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two
21	years following renewal.
22	
23	B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of
24	licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period.
25	
26	C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows:
27	
28	1. To document completion of formal organized learning activities the licensee
29	shall provide:
30	

1	a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or
2	
3	b. Certificates of participation.
4	
5	2. Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source
6	material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to
7	completion of the home study.
8	
9	3. Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the
10	following:
11	
12	a. Certificates of participation;
13	
14	b. Proof of presentations made;
15	
16	c. Reprints of publications;
17	
18	d. Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing
19	education programs;
20	
21	e. Official notification from the association that sponsored the item
22	writing workshop or continuing education program; or
23	
24	f. Documentation of attendance at formal staffing by a signed affidavit on
25	a form provided by the board.
26	
27	D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to
28	satisfy renewal requirements.
29	
30	18 VAC 115-20-110. Late renewal; reinstatement.
31	

1	A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its expiration
2	date by paying the late fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-20-20 as well as the license renewal
3	fee prescribed for the year the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of having met
4	all applicable continuing competency requirements.
5	
6	B. A person who fails to renew a license after one year or more and wishes to resume
7	practice shall apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, and
8	submit evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the scope
9	of practice of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable continuing
10	competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
11	
12	C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for active
13	licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and documentation of
14	continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been inactive not
15	to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
16	
17	
18 19 20 21 22	PART VI. STANDARDS OF PRACTICE UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT, DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS; REINSTATEMENT
23 24 25	18 VAC 115-20-140. Grounds for revocation, suspension, probation, reprimand, censure, or denial of renewal of license.
26	A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend or decline to renew a license may be taken in
27	accord with the following:
28	
29	1. Conviction of a felony, or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or violation
30	of or aid to another in violating any provision of Chapter 35 (§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of
31	Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to the practice of
32	professional counseling, or any provision of this chapter.
33	

1	2. Procuring of license by fraud or misrepresentation.
2	
3	3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the health and
4	welfare of one's clients or to the public, or if one is unable to practice counseling with
5	reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs,
6	narcotics, chemicals, or other type of material or result of any mental or physical condi-
7	tion.
8	
9	4. Negligence in professional conduct or nonconformance with the Standards of
10	Practice (18 VAC 115-20-130 B).
11	
12	5. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas of competency.
13	
14	6. Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in
15	this chapter.
16	
17	B. Following the revocation or suspension of a license, the licensee may petition the board
18	for reinstatement upon good cause shown or as a result of substantial new evidence having
19	been obtained that would alter the determination reached.
20	

1 2	Marriage and Family Therapy Regulations
3	
4	PART I
5	GENERAL PROVISIONS
6	
7	18 VAC 115-50-20. Fees.
8	
9	A. The board has established fees for the following:
10	Registration of supervision \$50
11	Add or change supervisor\$25
12	Initial licensure by examination: Processing and initial licensure\$140
13	Initial licensure by endorsement: processing and initial licensure\$140
14	Active aAnnual license renewal\$105
15	Inactive annual license renewal\$55
16	Penalty for late renewal\$35
17	Reinstatement of a lapsed license\$165
18	Verification of license to another jurisdiction\$25
19	Additional or replacement licenses\$5
20	Additional or replacement wall certificates\$15
21	Returned check\$25
22	Reinstatement following revocation or suspension\$500
23	
24	B. Fees shall be paid to the board or its contractor or both in appropriate amounts as
25	specified in the application instructions. All fees are non-refundable.
26	
27	C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board.
28	
29	
30	PART IV
31	RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE
32	

1	18 VAC 115-50-90. Annual renewal of license.
2	
3	A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year.
4	
5	B. Beginning with the 2005 renewal aAll licensees who intend to continue an active to
6	practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year on or before the
7	expiration date_of the license submit to the board:
8	
9	1. A license renewal application supplied by the board completed application for
10	renewal of the license on which the licensee attests to compliance with the
11	continuing competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and
12	
13	The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-50-20.
14	
15	C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon payment
16	of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-50-20. No person shall practice
17	marriage and family therapy in Virginia unless he holds a current active license. A licensee
18	who has placed himself in inactive status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation
19	requirements set forth in 18 VAC 115-50-100.C.
20	
21	CD. Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days. Failure to
22	receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the
23	renewal requirement.
24	
25	D. Licensees shall provide the board with official documentation of a legal name change
26	and written notification of address changes within 90 days of such change.
27	
28	18 VAC 115-50-95. Continued competency requirements for renewal of a license.
29	
30	A. After July 1, 2004, marriage & family therapists shall be required to have completed
31	a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual licensure renewal. A

1	minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of
2	practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia.
3	
4	B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion
5	of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to
6	the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing
7	competency requirement.
8	
9	C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency
10	requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary
11	disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters.
12	
13	D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain
14	continuing competency for each license. Dually licensed individual will only be required
15	to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this section or subsection A of 18 VAC
16	115-20-105 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Professional
17	Counselors, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the
18	Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Providers.
19	
20	18 VAC 115-50-96 Continuing competency activity criteria.
21	
22	A. Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one
23	or more of the areas listed below.
24	
25	1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions
26	2. Counseling theory
27	3. Human growth and development
28	4. Social and cultural foundations
29	5. The helping relationship
30	6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling
31	7 Lifestyle and career development

1	8. Appraisal of individuals
2	9. Research and evaluation
3	10. Professional orientation
4	11. Clinical supervision
5	12. Marriage and family therapy
6	13. Addictions
7	
8	B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following types:
9	
10	1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. (Activities may be
11	counted at their full hour value.) Hours shall be obtained from one or a
12	combination of the following board-approved mental health related activities:
13	
14	a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a
15	behavioral health discipline.
16	
17	b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges.
18	
19	c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health
20	field offered by federal, state or local licensed health facilities and licensed
21	hospitals.
22	
23 24 25 26	d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or approved by one of the following:
27	(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its
28	state affiliates.
29	
30	(ii) The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its
31	state affiliates.
32	

1 2	(iii) The American Association of State Counseling Boards.
3 4	(<i>iv</i>) The American Counseling Association and its state and local affiliates.
5	(v) The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates.
6 7	(vi) Commission on Rehabilitation Education.
8 9 10	(vii) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state and local affiliates.
11 12	(viii) National Association of Social Workers.
13 14	(ix) National Board for Certified Counselors.
15	
16 17	(x) A national behavioral health organization or certification body.
18 19 20 21	(<i>xi</i>) Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing competency sponsors by the American Association of State Counseling Boards or a counseling board in another state.
22	Individual professional activities.
23 24 25	a. Publication/presentation/new program development
25 26	(i) Publication of articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight
27	hours.)
28	
29	Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a
30	chapter in an edited book.
31	
32	(<i>ii</i>) Publication of books. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18
33	hours.)
34	
35	(<i>iii</i>) Presentations. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)

1	
2	The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period. Only
3	actual presentation time may be counted.
4	
5	(<i>iv</i>) New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of
6	eight hours.)
7	
8	New program development includes a new course, seminar, or workshop.
9	New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level college or university
10	courses.
11	
12	b. Dissertation. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.)
13	
14	Dissertation credit may only be counted once.
15	
16	c. Clinical supervision/consultation. (Activity will count for a maximum of ten
17	hours.)
18	
19	Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical
20	supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.
21	Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you
22	provide to others.
23	
24	d. Leadership. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
25	
26	The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing
27	competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization;
28	editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of
29	state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national
30	counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary
31	review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling

1	committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major
2	counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with
3	justifiable professional learning experiences. The leadership positions
4	must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure.
5	must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first neensure.
6	e. Practice related programs. (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight
7	hours.)
8	<u>nours.</u>
9	The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency
10	
10	as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written
	justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his
12	clients. Examples include: language courses, software training, medical
13	topics, etc.
14	
1 8 5 V 1	AC 115-50-97. Documenting compliance with continuing competency requirements.
17	
18	A. All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two
19	years following renewal.
20	
21	B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of
22	licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period.
23	
24	C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows:
25	
26	1. To document completion of formal organized learning activities licensee shall
27	provide:
28	
29	a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or
30	
31	b. Certificates of participation.
32	

1	2. Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source
2	material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to
3	completion of the home study.
4	
5	3. Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the
6	following:
7	
8	a. Certificates of participation;
9	
10	b. Proof of presentations made;
11	
12	c. Reprints of publications;
13	
14	d. Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing
15	education programs;
16	
17	e. Official notification from the association that sponsored the item
18	writing workshop or continuing education program; or
19	
20	f. Documentation of attendance at formal staffing shall be by signed
21	affidavit on a form provided by the board.
22	
23	D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to
24	satisfy renewal requirements.
25	
26	18 VAC 115-50-100. Late renewal, reinstatement.
27	
28	A. An individual person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its
29	expiration date by paying the penalty fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-50-20 as well as the
30	license fee prescribed for the period the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of
31	having met all applicable continuing competency requirements.

1		
2	B. A n	individual person seeking reinstatement of a license one year or more after its
3	expira	tion date must apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee and submit
4	eviden	ce regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the scope of
5	practic	e of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable continuing
6	compe	tency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
7		
8	<u>C. A</u>	person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for active
9	licensu	re minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and documentation of
10	continu	ued competency hours equal to the number of years the license has been inactive, not
11	to exce	eed a maximum of 80 hours.
12		
13		
14 15 16		PART VI DISCIPLINARY ACTION
17 18	18 VA	C 115-50-120. Disciplinary Action.
19	A. In	accordance with §54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, the board may, after a
20	hea	aring, revoke, suspend or decline to issue or renew a license or impose a fine in
21	aco	cordance with the following:
22		
23	1.	Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude;
24		
25	2.	Procurement of a license, certificate or registration by fraud or misrepresentation;
26		
27	3.	Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the health
28		and welfare of one's clients or the general public;
29		
30	4.	Practicing marriage and family therapy without reasonable skill and safety to
31		clients by virtue of physical or emotional illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs,
32		narcotics, chemicals or any other hazardous substance or material;

1		
2	5.	Providing or offering services outside the demonstrable areas of competency; or
3		
4	6.	Violating or abetting another person in the violation of any provision of any
5		statute applicable to the practice of marriage and family therapy, or any part or
6		portion of this chapter-; or
7		
8	<u>7.</u>	Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in this
9		chapter.
10		

1 2	Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioner Regulations
3 4 5 6 7	PART I GENERAL PROVISIONS
8	18 VAC 115-60-20. Fees required by the board.
9	
10	A. The board has established the following fees applicable to licensure as a substance abuse
11	treatment practitioner:
12	
13	Registration of supervision (initial)\$50
14	Add/Change supervisor\$25
15	Initial licensure by examination: Processing and initial licensure\$140
16	Initial licensure by endorsement: Processing and initial licensure\$140
17	Active aAnnual license renewal\$105
18	Inactive annual license renewal\$55
19	Duplicate license\$5
20	Verification of license to another jurisdiction\$25
21	Late renewal\$35
22	Reinstatement of a lapsed license\$165
23	Replacement of or additional wall certificate\$15
24	Returned check\$25
25	Reinstatement following revocation or suspension\$500
26	
27	B. Fees shall be <u>paid directly</u> to the board or its contractor, or both, in appropriate
28	amounts as specified in the application instructions. All fees are non-refundable.
29	
30	C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable as determined by the board.
31	
32	
33	

1 2	PART IV. LICENSE RENEWAL; REINSTATEMENT
3 4	18 VAC 115-60-110. Renewal of licensure
5	10 VIC 115-00-110. Renewal of neensate
6	A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of each year.
7	
8	B. <u>Beginning with the 2005renewal</u> , eEvery license holder who intends to continue an
9	<u>active</u> to practice shall submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year:
10	
11	1. A completed application for renewal of the license on which the licensee attests
12	to compliance with the continuing competency requirements prescribed in this
13	chapter; and
14	2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-20.
15	
16	C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon
17	payment of the inactive renewal fee as established in 18 VAC 115-60-20. No person
18	shall practice substance abuse treatment in Virginia unless he holds a current active
19	license. A licensee who has placed himself in inactive status may become active by
20	fulfilling the reactivation requirements set forth in 18 VAC 115-60-120.C.
21	
22	\underline{CD} . Licensees shall notify the board of change of address within 60 days. Failure to
23	receive a renewal notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from the renewal
24	requirement.
25	
26	18 VAC 115-60-115. Continued competency requirements for renewal of a
27	license.
28	
29	A. After July 1, 2004, licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners shall be required
30	to have completed a minimum of 20 hours of continuing competency for each annual
31	licensure renewal. A minimum of two of these hours shall be in courses that emphasize
32	the ethics, standard of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions in

1 <u>Virginia.</u>

3	B. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion
4	of continuing competency requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to
5	the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing
6	competency requirement.
7	
8	C. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing competency
9	requirements due to circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary
10	disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters.
11	
12	D. Those individuals dually licensed by this board will not be required to obtain
13	continuing competency for each license. Dually licensed individuals will only be
14	required to provide the hours set out in subsection A of this Chapter or subsection A of
15	18 VAC 115-50-95 in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Marriage and Family
16	Therapy, or subsection A of 18 VAC 115-60-115 in the Regulations Governing the
17	Practice of Licensed Professional Counselors.
18	
19	18 VAC 115-60-116. Continuing competency activity criteria.
20	
21	A. Continuing competency activities must focus on increasing knowledge or skills in one
22	or more of the areas listed below.
23	
24	1. Ethics, standards of practice or laws governing behavioral science professions
25	2. Counseling theory
26	3. Human growth and development
27	4. Social and cultural foundations
28	5. The helping relationship
29	6. Group dynamics, processing and counseling
30	7 Lifestyle and career development
31	8. Appraisal of individuals

1	9. Research and evaluation
2	10. Professional orientation
3	11. Clinical supervision
4	12. Marriage and family therapy
5	13. Addictions
6	
7	B. Approved hours of continuing competency activity shall be one of the following
8	types:
9	
10	1. Formally organized learning activities or home study. (Activities may be
11	counted at their full hour value.) Hours shall be obtained from one or a
12	combination of the following board-approved mental health related activities:
13	
14	a. Regionally accredited university or college level academic courses in a
15	behavioral health discipline.
16	
17	b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges.
18	
19	c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field
20	offered by federal, state or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals.
21	
22	d. Workshops, seminars conferences or courses in the behavioral health field
23	offered by an individual or organization that has been certified or
24	approved by one of the following:
25	
26	(i) The American Association of Marriage and Family Counselors and its
27	state affiliates.
28	
29	(ii) The American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists and its
30	state affiliates.
31	

1	(iii) The American Association of State Counseling Boards.
2	
3	(<i>iv</i>) The American Counseling Association and its state and local affiliates.
4	
5	(v) The American Psychological Association and its state affiliates.
6	
7	(vi) Commission on Rehabilitation Education.
8	
9	(vii) NAADAC, The Association for Addiction Professionals and its state
10	and local affiliates.
11	
12	(viii) National Association of Social Workers.
13	
14	(ix) The National Board for Certified Counselors.
15	
16	(x) A national behavioral health organization or certification body.
17	
18	(xi) Individuals or organizations that have been approved as continuing
19	competency sponsors by the American Association of State
20	Counseling Boards or a counseling board in another state.
21	
22	2. Individual professional activities.
23	
24	a. Publication/presentation/new program development
25	
26	(i) Publication of articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight
27	hours.)
28	
29	Publication activities are limited to articles in refereed journals or a
30	chapter in an edited book.

1	
2	(ii) Publication of books. (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours.)
3	
4	(iii) Presentations. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
5	
6	The same presentations may be used only once in a two-year period. Only
7	actual presentation time may be counted.
8	
9	(iv) New program development (Activity will count for a maximum of
10	eight hours.)
11	
12	New program development includes a new course, seminar, or
13	workshop. New courses shall be graduate or undergraduate level
14	college or university courses.
15	
16	b. Dissertation (Activity will count for a maximum of 18 hours)
17	
18	Dissertation credit may only be counted once.
19	
20	c. Clinical supervision/consultation. (Activity will count for a maximum of ten
21	hours.)
22	
23	Continuing competency can only be granted for clinical
24	supervision/consultation received on a regular basis with a set agenda.
25	Continuing competency cannot be granted for supervision that you
26	provide to others.
27	
28	d. Leadership. (Activity will count for a maximum of eight hours.)
29	
30	The following leadership positions are acceptable for continuing
31	competency credit: Officers of state or national counseling organization;

1	editor and/or reviewer of professional counseling journals; member of
2	state counseling licensure/certification board; member of a national
3	counselor certification board; member of a national ethics disciplinary
4	review committee rendering licenses; active member of a counseling
5	committee producing a substantial written product; chair of a major
6	counseling conference or convention; other leadership positions with
7	justifiable professional learning experiences. The leadership positions
8	must take place for a minimum of one year after the date of first licensure.
9	
10	e. Practice related programs. (Activity will count up to a maximum of eight
11	hours.)
12	
13	The board may allow up to eight contact hours of continuing competency
14	as long as the regulant submits proof of attendance plus a written
15	justification of how the activity assists him in his direct service of his
16	clients. Examples include: language courses, software training, medical
17	topics, etc.
18	
18 9V	AC 115-60-117. Documenting compliance with continuing competency
20 21	requirements.
21	A. All licensees are required to maintain original documentation for a period of two
22	<u>years following renewal.</u>
23 24	years following fellewar.
24 25	D. After the end of each renewal period, the beard may conduct a rendem audit of
23 26	B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may conduct a random audit of
20 27	licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for that renewal period.
	C. Upon request a licensee shall provide decumentation as follows:
28 29	C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows:
	1. To document completion of formal enconized learning activities lieurant -1-11
30	<u>1. To document completion of formal organized learning activities licensee shall</u>
31	provide:
32	

1	a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or
2	
3	b. Certificates of participation.
4	
5	2. Documentation of home study shall be made by identification of the source
6	material studied, summary of content, and a signed affidavit attesting to
7	completion of the home study.
8	
9	3. Documentation of individual professional activities shall be by one of the
10	following:
11	
12	a. Certificates of participation;
13	
14	b. Proof of presentations made;
15	
16	c. Reprints of publications;
17	
18	d. Letters from educational institutions or agencies approving continuing
19	education programs;
20	
21	e. Official notification from the association that sponsored the item
22	writing workshop or continuing education program; or
23	
24	<u>f.</u> Documentation of attendance at formal staffing shall be by signed
25	affidavit on a form provided by the board.
26	
27	D. Continuing competency hours required by a disciplinary order shall not be used to
28 20	satisfy renewal requirements.
29 30	18 VAC 115 60 120 I ato renouval, reinstatement
30 31	18 VAC 115-60-120. Late renewal; reinstatement.
31	

1	A. A person whose license has expired may renew it within one year after its expiration
2	date by paying the late renewal fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-60-20, as well as the license
3	fee prescribed for the year the license was not renewed, and provide evidence of having met
4	all applicable continuing competency requirements.
5	
6	B. A person who fails to renew a license after one year or more and wishes to resume
7	practice must shall apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed license,
8	and submit evidence regarding the continued ability to perform the functions within the
9	scope of practice of the license, and provide evidence of having met all applicable
10	continuing competency requirements not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
11	
12	C. A person wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for
13	active licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive licensure renewal, and
14	documentation of continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license
15	has been inactive not to exceed a maximum of 80 hours.
16	
17	
18 19 20 21 22	PART V. STANDARDS OF PRACTICE UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT; DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS; REINSTATEMENT
23 24 25	18 VAC 115-60-140. Grounds for revocation, suspension, probation, reprimand, censure, or denial of renewal of license.
26	A. Action by the board to revoke, suspend or decline to renew a license may be taken in
27	accord with the following:
28	
29	1. Conviction of a felony, of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or
30	violation of or aid to another in violating any provision of Chapter 35 of Title 54.1
31	(§ 54.1-3500 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia, any other statute applicable to the
~~	
32	practice of substance abuse treatment, or any provision of this chapter.

1	2. Procuring of license by fraud or misrepresentation.
2	
3	3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to make it a danger to the health
4	and welfare of one's clients or to the public, or if one is unable to practice
5	substance abuse treatment with reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of
6	illness, abusive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or other type of
7	material or result of any mental or physical condition.
8	
9	4. Negligence in professional conduct or nonconformance with the Standards of
10	Practice (18 VAC 115-60-130).
11	
12	5. Performance of functions outside the demonstrable areas of competency.
13	
14	6. Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in this
15	chapter.
16	
17	B. Petition for rehearing. Following the revocation or suspension of a license the
18	licensee may petition the board for rehearing upon good cause shown or as a result of
19	substantial new evidence having been obtained that would alter the determination
20	reached.
21	
~~	